Palmanova, Spain, ITF World Tennis Tour, W15 Palmanova, clay, outdoor: 1R, Anna Siskova (CZE) - Vicky Van De Peer (BEL) 26 64 63, 2R: Celia Cervino Ruiz (ESP) 57 63 61, QF: Maria Gutierrez Carrasco (ESP) 16 64 63, SF: Yvonne Cavalle-Reimers (ESP) 62 46 62, F:  Alba REY GARCIA (ESP) 6-3 6-1 TITLE!!!!

Palmanova, Spain, ITF World Tennis Tour, W15 Palmanova, clay, outdoor: 1R, Anna Siskova (CZE) - Vicky Van De Peer (BEL) 26 64 63, 2R: Celia Cervino Ruiz (ESP) 57 63 61, QF: Maria Gutierrez Carrasco (ESP) 16 64 63, SF: Yvonne Cavalle-Reimers (ESP) 62 46 62, F:  Alba REY GARCIA (ESP) 6-3 6-1 TITLE!!!!

Artem Dubrivnyy from EMPIRE Tennis Academy: Tennis is most important thing in my life

Artem Dubrivnyy, EMPIRE Tennis Academy

Successful not only amongst juniors, Artem Dubrivnyy started collecting points into the ATP rankings, although he is only 17. He has more wins and more titles ahead of him, should he continue in the progress he is doing. Russian tennis player Artem Dubrivnyy has chosen EMPIRE Tennis Academy in Trnava for his base, where he co-operates with Karol Beck, former Slovakian Davis Cup player. Artem shared his thought on training process and life in Slovakia.

How did you find out about tennis academy in Trnava and what was your first reaction?

"My sponsor told me about the academy. At that time, I had great coach in Taganrog, Russia. I felt it’s time to move on. I decided to move to Trnava and try something new. I liked the atmosphere in the academy, training facilities, coaches so I decided to stay here. There are responsible coaches here. I have training plan, which includes everything – physical preparations, individual trainings as well as sparing. I feel I am improving both as a player and as a person."

How do you get on with Slovakian players?

"In Trnava I got to know players around my age, in Bratislava with older players. Together with Andrej Martin, Lukas Klein, Alex Molcan or Martin Blasko we often have sparing together that is absolutely great. I am friend more with guys in Trnava, we have lot of things in common."

Did you know anything about Slovakia before you came here?

"Honestly? I did not know anything about Slovakia. I came here, like it so I stayed (laughing). I like the quiet surrounding in Trnava. I can ride the bike to any place in the city and not get stuck in traffic jam. It is great; I often ride the bike in Trnava. I liked it in Senec and Liptovsky Jan as well. Beautiful nature and great food!"

So you tried typical Slovakian cuisine. How do you like it?

"I really love dumplings with smoked meat, cabbage. It is very simple but very tasty. First time, I tried it in Liptovsky Jan during one of our training camps."

When they ask you abroad – where do you train, what do you tell them about academy?

"We have the best facilities for training, the approach people have in this academy is exceptional and preparation of players is on great level. Coaches here are very responsible and educated. They work hard to prepare kids and have individual approach. I have tried different academies before joining EMPIRE Tennis Academy, so I can compare them, but definitely I like it most here."

In what areas did you improve most since joining the academy?

"First and most, my ranking has improved a lot. In young age, I reached No. 1002 in the ATP rankings, not bad at all. I dropped a little now, but I believe, I can still improve. My coach does not let me take breaks. I improved my physics and stamina."

How does your typical day in the academy look like?

"I wake up at seven in the morning, because at eight I have to be in the gym, then I have first training session until eleven. Then lunch, rest before next training session. Second one begins at 2pm. After 2 hours, I go home. I rest and do my homework."

What about your school?

"Well, I have individual school plan in Russia and I study online. When I go to Russia, I do all the exams."

What’s your most favourite subject?

"I love maths. My father always helped me with it, and I was good at it because of his help. Maths and logic also help me in tennis. Physics and Chemistry are most problematic for me."

Does your family visit you in Trnava?

"My mum lives with me in Slovakia. My father has visited me here and he liked it a lot. In near future, my older brother should come as well. I am already thinking about the trips I take him on."

Don’t you regret being so far from home?

"I miss my family, but I am prepared to make this sacrifice for tennis. Tennis is most important thing in my life and I am completely focused on my tennis career."

How do you spend your free time, when not playing tennis?

"We wander around the city with friends, walk around the city centre. We go out for food on weekends, and we talk a lot about tennis. We often play football or basketball and ride the bike in the city. I enjoy doing all sorts of outdoor activities – it helps me to get tennis out of my mind for some time, to relax."

How did you feel last year in Kazan, when you won your first ATP points?

"I started to understand what it means to play men’s tennis. I started to believe, I can beat senior players, I am not any worse than them. It was my third tournament with men and I reached singles semi-final. I was very happy about this result."

You played several men’s tournaments. What is the biggest difference compared to playing junior tournaments?

"These players are more developed; they have been in many different and difficult situations. They are very quick with their reactions and they can change the tactics on the court according to the situation. They are making money out of tennis. For lot of them it is very important because they can help other people from the money they earn by playing tennis."

What would you like to achieve in tennis?

"I would like to reach top 100 in ATP to start with and then raise in the ranking of course."

Photos by: 
Ivan Kopcani,

Weather in Trnava


Get in touch


Stay informed on our latest news!